Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:09 a.m. - 2008-07-16
YOU WIN SOME, YOU LOSE SOME

Today was an incredibly even day. Very Newtonian - for every action, there was an equal and opposite and so on. We'll begin at the beginning...

+1) I had class this morning and was, for the first time since the beginning of the semester, not late. If we've met, then you know what a phenomenal accomplishment this is for me.

-1) Russian Oligarch Kid (referred to in my brain as ROK, I call him this because his family are millionaire Russian-American business owners, with bodyguards and Interests in Moscow) officially came out in support of doing away with democratically-elected government and installing philosopher-kings. This would normally be a +1 b/c that is obviously fucking ridiculous, but most of the class, including the professor, seemed to be on his side of the whole thing. Before realizing that I was outnumbered by soulless fuck-the-plebes, capitalism-at-all-costs conservatives, I laughed at him at called him a fascist. Well, technically I said that though I could see the appeal of this kind of benevolent paternalist fantasy, this system's implementation would require the removal of all effective checks and balances and leave the door wide open for fascist rule. Actually, let's make this a -3, partially in response to my not-exactly-calm-and-collected response, and partially because the NYU business school, leading manufacturer of Future Movers and Shakers of America, is turning out these misguided elitists.

+1) Went and heard the Philharmonic play in Central Park with Velma and Daphne (These are pseudonyms, obvi. Calm down. We did not smoke up in the Mystery Machine or anything, though that would be a definite +1000, effectively undermining the whole conceit of this entry.) We were kind of far away, so it was really more like a picnic with really incredibly beautiful background music, which was fine too.

+1) There was red wine and spiked lemonade and brie and hummus and crackers and fireworks...

-.5) ...which were partially hidden behind a tree.

+2) Came home to find that I have gotten a job interview! For a literary agency that I am genuinely interested in!

-1) The suggested interview time occurs while I'm in Oregon. I am now totally and utterly paranoid that they will just say 'fuck it' and go with one of the other 12 billion or so qualified candidates that I'm sure are clamoring for this low-paid, entry-level job. Seriously. I am only mildly less paranoid that I will have to do a phone interview rather than a face-to-face, since I know that I'm more effective in person, especially when dealing with someone I've never met.

+1) Eddie Murphy and Michael Jackson made a music video together. I got high and watched it. I would like to recommend this activity highly.

Ok, well I haven't actually been keep track as I went through, so let's find out how balanced the day actually is, shall we?

And the day's total score is....................a 1.5!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Not bad, I suppose. Not bad at all.

-Britt

previous - next

Email me at [email protected]!

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!