Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:15 a.m. - 2008-04-08
THE ONE ABOUT SHARKS

Motherfucker.

My computer just randomly turned off while I was in the middle of writing an entry, and now it's gone. I am both annoyed and confused, since the computer had absolutely no reason to turn off. Apparently it just didn't care for the content of my post and wanted to let me know that.

And again I say, motherfucker.

I had a lovely little account of my roommate's birthday party written, which I'm not going to rewrite. Suffice it to say that there was free champagne, Novice Theory is an excellent performer, and Penny Arcade pulled Swedish Fish out of her crotch. See, now don't you wish you knew? Too bad. My computer doesn't want you to. Perhaps it is secretly in the employ of the FCC. Perhaps I already got my own NSA agent!

Speaking of which, it turns out Ben's computer has some special program which saves the transcript of every AIM conversation he has, which is creepy, but does mean that the saga of Mike the SimShark has been preserved for posterity. What follows has been edited/redacted in the interest of national security and comedic effect:

shinynewtoy: I have a reader in the government! i dont know what type of job, but its a .gov isp, which makes me feel powerful
savemyseoul: not paranoid? maybe it's an NSA trawlerbot with artificial intelligence!
shinynewtoy: well maybe. but realistically i think that my subversive activities are minimal enough that if someone is tracking my diary/email/text messages, my primary response is 'dude, your job is waste of life'
savemyseoul: try telling that to an icy inhuman datashark named Mike
shinynewtoy : im sorry what? "icy inhuman databot named Mike"? that sounds awfully specific. was there an incident?
savemyseoul: "datashark". He's a datashark
shinynewtoy: whatever
savemyseoul: his digital face is filled with teeth
shinynewtoy: explain yourself
savemyseoul: I've talked myself into a hole here, the truth is I've always wanted a pet shark but the closest I ever got was a shark that I named Mike in SimLife [sweetest of the Sim games, by the way] who eventually evolved from a shark into a carnivorous anemone on his way to taking over the world
savemyseoul: But he could have gone to work for the NSA if he'd wanted to, I'm sure

I don't think I can do better than that, so I'll end here.

Note for Ben: Ask Lil' Kinker to tell you you about the club Qua in Austin. Or actually, I just googled it, and this is all you need to know: "A DJ booth is perched above the transparent dance floor, which reveals frenetic reef sharks and stingrays swimming in the 19,000-gallon pool below the dancing divas." True story.

-Britt

previous - next

Email me at [email protected]!

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!