Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:18 p.m. - 2008-04-02
DO ME, BLOG

There's a phrase in Anansi Boys, one of Neil Gaiman's very funny books, where one of the characters yells at another to get off the computer because she wants "to do me blog." This character is British, by the way. So it's just dialect.

I am not British, but every time I sit down to write in this thing, I hear that phrase in my head. It seems my internal monologue is a bit OCD, because it's happened enough that the phrase no longer has any meaning, it's just sounds. DO ME BLOG. Do me, blog. Do. Me Blog. Doomiblog. It's annoying.

----------------------------------------

I was sitting in the park today, talking on the phone and keeping an eye on the crazies, when I was suddenly hit upside the head by poster.

It had blown off a pole, and my head was just in its way. No one intentionally wacked me, but as it was blowing away, I noticed that it read, "You will love me in the end." That poster is a liar.

The other fun thing that happened in the park today is this: They're aerating the soil for spring planting, which is not the fun part. The fun part is that the way that do this is by giving a park employee a golf cart and attaching a little cart with spikes on the bottom to the back of it. He then goes to the park and basically does donuts on the grass. I watched him for a while, and, man, he must have been so dizzy. I was dizzy just watching him.

-----------------------------------------

Finally, I have this:

Viking Women Wore Sexy Outfits

I mean, seriously. I'm not asking for a supermodel here, but if you're going to write an article about nipple plates and their titillating (hee hee) role in early Scandinavian fashion, you'd think you could do better with that. The expression on that woman's face is the opposite of a 'come-hither' look. It's more of an "I am a serious historian, I can't believe you are doing this to me, take the damn picture and get the fuck out' look.

-Britt

previous - next

Email me at [email protected]!

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!