Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:11 p.m. - 2008-03-31
SO SPECIAL

I've been lazy, so we'll do this by day.

FRIDAY

A piece of advice for you all: Do not drink an entire bottle of red wine by yourself.

But, if you must, make sure you have more for dinner that a tiny fucking bowl of soup and 3 beers (oops). Otherwise, you will be like me and feeling all superior about how you just can't stand house parties anymore and everyone just gets so WASTED and noisy, and then you will throw up out of the door of the cab on the way home and realize that, in fact, you are the one behaving like a silly little high school girl who doesn't know her limits and deserve whatever hangover is coming your way because you did it to yourself.

SATURDAY

Had hangover. Plus shame. So much shame, in fact, that I drug my hungover ass out of bed long before my throbbing head thought it was appropriate and went to see Ghosts at the Pearl Theater Company so that I could feel like a grownup and also apologize to S., who is both the one who told me about it and the one who had to hold my hair the night before.

It was a good thing, though. Even though my stomach was still doing occasional angry backflips, I have to say that sitting very still in a dark room and being entertained is not a bad way to spend a hangover. The performance was excellent and particularly well-cast, with the exclusion of the girl who played Regina, who seemed not untalented so much as inexperienced. Plus, I was feeling super-emotional and got really into it, even indulging in a good long cry during the denouement.

Went home and read for the rest of the day, eventually falling asleep at about 7:30, which meant that I woke up at 2:30. You know how, in cartoons, sometimes an alarm will go off and the character smashes it with the hammer and the springs go flying everywhere? I think I did this to my internal clock one too many times. That thing is way busted. Normally, I am deeply annoyed by this, but it worked out OK this time, because about 15 minute after I woke up I got a call from V., who had gotten lost in the process of driving from Bayridge to Park Slope and somehow ended up in my neighborhood. So he came over and we ate cheese toast and hung out for a while, and when he left I managed to go back to sleep for a few hours and then it was daytime again. Actually, right as he was pulling up, I noticed what initially appeared to be a teenage girl clopping down my industrial alleyway in a prom dress. Was very confused and somewhat concerned until the person got closer and it turned out it was just one of my roommates in a prom dress. I love that this is less weird to me.

SUNDAY

Not a goddamn thing. I mean, I obviously did things, but I can't for the life of me figure out what. The only thing that springs to mind is the hour or more long conversation I had with a different one of my roommates about the cultural implications of Lindsay Lohan. I may post a condensed version of this later, possibly with some way-late commentary on the Spitzer scandal, but maybe not.

MONDAY

II'm looking back over this entry and am somewhat disappointed with it. I don't want this thing to be a blow-by-blow of my life. I'd rather try to stick with the series of amusing-but-disjointed anecdotes thing I've been doing. Alas, it's time for me to go to class*. I'll do better next time.

-Britt

*Please ignore that horrible and totally unintentional rhyme. I can't be bothered with a rephrase right now.

previous - next

Email me at [email protected]!

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!