Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:36 p.m. - 2008-03-28
IN WHICH I MENTION THREE (3) FOREIGN COUNTRIES
A post while I kill time before going to work:

I got to the library at about 1, with the intention of working on my paper for a few hours. This is what I have done since I got here:
1) consulted the online catalog for a book I wanted to use, and found out it was checked out.
2) fucked around online.

Oh, well. I'll try again later. Or tomorrow.

The job I'm killing time in anticipation of isn't exactly a real job. Rather, it's part-time, once a week, secretarial work I do for a woman whose son I used to babysit. She's a head hunter, primarily for executive-level placements in Japan and other points East Asian. My job consists of scanning business cards and organizing them into a navigable database, talking to her kid about manga, and reassuring her that her marriage is fine. I'm only really qualified for one of these jobs, and it is not the manga.

How does this happen? Every single time I accept a job, I somehow end up being a secretary. It doesn't really matter what job I apply for, eventually I find myself hunched over my employers filing backlog, alphabetizing my little heart out. Plus, now employer-lady wants to train me up to be her assistant. I'm tempted by this because, frankly, she way overpays me as it is, and there's no reason believe this will change. On the other hand, i don't want to be a head hunter. And if I did, I'd probably try to get a head hunting job that didn't also require me to learn Japanese/devote a large portion of my work hours to agreeing that her husband just hasn't yet realized that he wants to leave his very-prestigious-but-not-that-well-renumerated job and become a consultant.

------------------------------------------

Another reason I'm moving to Canada*:

Have you been following the Sally Kern debacle? She's an Oklahoma state senator, and the video I linked to is exerpt of a speech she gave that was secretly videotaped. It's truly appalling.

And now there's this.

Boo, Sally Kern.

*not really. I like New York. But if Huckabee had gotten the nomination/won the election, I was very seriously considering it.
---------------------------------------------

CNN headline of the day*:

President Bush: "Iraq has a lot of potential"

Seriously? "Potential"? This is not a lazy child we're discussing here. It's a country. A country that, admittedly, wasn't exactly rockin' before we got involved, but is certainly suffering now that we blew up most of their public services. President Bush, you are an idiot, and your speech writer deserves a swift kick in the balls.

*technically, yesterday.

previous - next

Email me at [email protected]!

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!