Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:48 p.m. - 2008-03-27
CUPS AND CAPES

Oh, dear. I was going to write about yesterday's people watching adventures, and I still am, but first I need to deal with this.

A poster in the women's bathroom of the Main building has informed me of the existence of the reusable menstrual cup *. No.

NO. NO. NO.

I am not OK with this. Environmentally friendly though they may be, how would you feel if you walked into the bathroom at school or work and some woman was rinsing out her menstrual cup in the sink? I think that I would feel unhappy. If the woman doing the rinsing was me, I think that I would feel even unhappier. Perhaps someday the environmental situation will degrade to the point that this sort of measure is necessary, but until that day comes, I think I will simply try to minimize my waste in other, less disgusting ways.

Also, the site I linked to offers a 90-trial period. If you are not satisfied, you simply mail your used menstrual cup back to them for a full refund.

*Far too many of my topics are public restroom related. I will try to work on this.

-----------------------

OK. People watching. There's a nice soothing topic.

Yesterday was amazing. First of all, it was one of the first days this year that have been warm enough for me to sit outside and do my homework in the park, which was great. Secondly, the cast of characters couldn't have been better. I saw:

The Guy Who Stands Outside the Park and Shouts the Time: He does this in between NYU passing periods, letting everyone know how many minutes there are to go before the next class starts. When he gets to five or less before, he adds "you're late!" He's there almost every day. He is not an NYU employee. Thanks for the info, crazy guy!

The Goth Kid in a Cape: This didn't actually happen while I was sitting in the park. I saw this kid while I was walking to class AT 10:30 IN THE MORNING. Look, it's one thing to get dressed up for a night of clubbing and wear something a little bit funky. This is the East Village; I get it. It is an entirely other thing to wake up in the morning and be sitting around, drinking a cup of tea (I am sure that Goth kids only drink tea, not coffee, but I have no reasons why) and say to yourself, 'today seems like the perfect day for me to tie on my black crushed velvet cape and go for a walk'.* That, my friend, takes balls.

Disco Bloodbath: This is the phrase that popped into my head when this woman(?) walked by and is now, by transference, her name. Think skin-tight silver leggings. Think exact-same-shade of silver platform go-go boots. Think hot pink eyeshadow artfully dripping off the corners of her eyes and down her cheeks in huge blobs. Think up-do with LOTS of feathers. It was amazing.

And finally, Probably Not Julianne Moore: This incredibly beautiful woman came and sat down on the bench opposite me while I was reading Mrs. Dalloway. I don't think it was, but she looked a lot like Julianne Moore, who was in The Hours, which is based on the book The Hours, which is based on Mrs. Dalloway. I kept staring at her, and she kept catching me doing so. It got awkward enough that I had to leave and was at my professor's office hour ten minutes early.

-Britt

*By the way, I love capes with my whole heart. I wear them whenever it seems appropriate, which is usually just once a year, on Halloween. But still.

previous - next

Email me at [email protected]!

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!