Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:56 a.m. - 2008-03-03
THIS DIARY MAY SELF-DESTRUCT
Ok, here we go.

I admit that I'm a little bit nervous about this whole thing. I've been considering making one of these things for a while, but have been putting it off because:

1) It seems like a project. Now, I love new projects, but I tend to lack the follow-through. I was talking to a friend about this, and how I wanted to start an online diary for - well, for a lot of reasons, but primarily just as a way of making myself Write Things Down. And then I explained that I'd been putting it off because if I didn't keep up with it would feel like a failure, and then I heard myself say the phrase "and, well, if you don't start, you can't fail, right?". After that, I hung up the phone and immediately created an account.

2) What if nobody reads it?

3) What if people do read it, but don't like it? Much easier to fancy yourself a writer if you never actually write things. Saves all sorts of potential humiliation.

So, yes. Here I am, Diaryland!

And now I don't know what to say. Hmm.

Also, I think I may have to modify this text entry block thingy because with the way it's currently set up it makes this entry look deceptively long, but I know it will be much shorter when I actually post*. If it looks too short I will feel like a slacker. I just don't think I an take that kind of blow this early in my career as an online diarist.

Also again, why is my computer telling me that I am misspelling destruct (see title) Is that wrong? Destruct destruct destruct. well it obviously looks wrong now, because I'm thinking about it way to hard, but I frankly just can't imagine how else one would spell it. Dictionary.com tells me its right. TextEdit thinks otherwise, but since its not offering any satisfactory alternative, I'm just going to have to trust my instincts on this one.

And, by the way, I am a faithful reader of mimi smartypants so if my online 'persona' (pretentious, but there are few good ways of putting it, the only other option I can come up with is 'voice', and thats worse) is somewhat/blatantly indebted to her, what can I say, take it as a compliment.

Also, if I added that link improperly and the code shows up instead to a nice pretty link, sorry. I'll work on that.

Until next time,
Britt


*Right now its about the width of a facebook wall (And, yes, I am in college, I just totally gave myself away with the facebook reference, right? Ah, well, you were going to find out anyway**)
**And by you I obviously mean my entirely fictional diary-reading public. Since I just made this thing it is unlikely that anyone actually looks at it yet.***
***Can you footnote a footnote? Apparently.

previous - next

Email me at [email protected]!

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!